Nordic Programs

National Training Group (NTG)

NTG Selection: Qualification for the NTG is based off of international performance and U.S. Championship results from the following year that display a trajectory toward international excellence. Additionally, USST coaches may select athletes via discretion based on outstanding results. The NTG is a self-funded project.

Under-24 Qualification Criteria

  • World Cup Top 30
  • Top 15 Women's / Top 20 Men's European (Scandinavian or Europa Cup) Continental Cup result
  • Top 15 Women's / Top 30 Men's World U23 Championship result
  • 2 Top 10's or 1 Top 5 at U.S. National Championships
  • 2 Top 10's or 1 Top 5 at U.S. Super Tour Finals
  • Top 3 NCAA Championships

U20 Qualification Criteria

  • World Junior Championship qualification and attendance
  • Youth Olympic Games qualification and attendance
  • Top 10 Women's / Top 15 Men's result at the U18 Nation's Cup (aka J1 Scando Cup Trip) or Top 10 U20 OPA Cup
  • Win in the Older Junior (1993-1994 YOB) division at U.S. Junior National Championships
  • Top 3 in the Junior 1 (1995-1996 YOB) division at U.S. Junior National Championships


  • Invitation to select U.S. Ski Team camps. Live, eat, and train with the National Team
  • Invitation to select European Continental Cup races
  • Access to the Center of Excellence in Park City, Utah during camp
  • Access to U.S. Ski Team coaching and training consultation
  • Bjorn Daehlie summer training gear

2013 National Training Group


Kyle Bratrud (Northern Michigan University/ Sten Fjeldheim)
Patrick Caldwell (Stratton Mountain School/ Gus Kaeding & Dartmouth College)
Logan Hanneman (University of Alaska - Fairbanks/ Scott Jerome)
Forrest Mahlen (Alaska Pacific University/ Eric Strabel & Montana State University/ Grethe Hagensen)
Tucker McCrerey (Summit Nordic/ Joe Howdyshell & University of Utah/ Kevin Sweeney)
Thomas O’Harra (Alaska Pacific University/ Eric Strabel)
Ben Saxton (Stratton Mountain School/ Gus Kaeding)

Hannah Boyer (NSC Fairbanks XC/ Pete Leonard Northern Michigan University/ Sten Fjeldheim)
Heidi Halvorsen  (Green Mountain Valley School/ Justin Beckwith)
Emily Hannah  (Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club/Josh Smullin & Dartmouth College/ Cami Thompson)
Julia Kern  (Cambridge Sports Union/ Rob Bradlee)
Anika Miller (Payette Lakes Sports/ Tuck Miller & Montana State University/ Grethe Hagensen)
Mary O’ Connell  (Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club/Josh Smullin & Dartmouth College/ Cami Thompson)
Katharine Ogden (Stratton Mountain School/ Sverre Caldwell)
Alayna Sonnesyn (Sisu Skiers/ Kevin Brochman)
Marion Woods (Alaska Winter Stars/ Jan Buron & University of Vermont/ Pat Weaver)


Skyler Davis (Stratton Mountain School/ Gus Kaeding)
David Norris (Alaska Pacific University/ Erik Flora & Montana State University/ Grethe Hagensen)
Eric Packer (Stratton Mountain School/ Gus Kaeding)
Sam Tarling (Maine Winter Sports Center/ Will Sweetser)

Caitlin Patterson (Craftsbury Green Team/ Pepa Miloucheva)
Annie Pokorny (Stratton Mountain School/ Gus Kaeding)







2013 NTG Camp Information

Park City, UT
Lake Placid, NY



Need to renew your membership, get coaching tips or work on your technique? Want to check rankings or results? Find all that and more on your My USSA page. 


Ready to become a member of USSA? Whether you're an athlete who wants to compete, a fan who wants to follow the action, or part of the support team, the USSA has a program for you.

Get Involved

The USSA's athletes get no government funding. Their success is dependent on passionate fans, like you! See how you can help athletes achieve their dreams.

2014 Winter Games

The 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia, are coming up quickly. Get the latest information on selection criteria, Sochi preparation and more here.